The Day After

Today is the day after my aunt’s funeral and I have some time to breathe before I move on to Thanksgiving. Getting through the funeral service was the easy part for me. I just had to play the organ. Oh, I did start to cry a few times, but was able to control it. I was able to do that because my sister and brother-in-law were here to take care of my parents. That was a huge help.

The meal afterward wasn’t as well-attended as my cousins originally thought, so that meant there was a ton of food left over. What that means is that I don’t have to cook for Thanksgiving. Well, not exactly, but I won’t be doing a turkey. Yet another huge help. They gave me about a dozen or so pieces of the chicken, a lot of green beans, and a generous helping of the pasta dish. After sharing that with my folks for their lunch, I have enough for a good meal tomorrow. All I have to do is the pie which really isn’t that much trouble. I have all the ingredients and now the time to put it together.

I am still exhausted from this extended weekend ordeal, but I think I am stronger for having gone through it. I am definitely closer to my sister and brother-in-law who continues to surprise me with his kindness.

Published in: on November 24, 2010 at 7:25 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zafodsgirl.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/the-day-after/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. According to the Tao, there is light in darkness, and your experience clearly shows this. Despite the sadness of your aunt’s death, you experienced God’s grace and blessings.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Thanks, Zulema. I’m definitely feeling it physically today. I’ve got a migraine, but it’s only a mild one. After I visit mom and dad as I promised, I’ll come home and rest.

  2. When we are able to see blessings in the face of difficulty, we have grown in leaps and bounds. May you continue to see the beauty and goodness around you.

    Take care of yourself…sending you love and healing energy.

    God bless, Linda

    • I believe I have. Some of it was from the experience of writing about things and especially reading all of your comments. Another part is the class/study I’ve been involved in at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. A group of doctors there is doing a research study about the relationship of stress and fibromyalgia and if controlling stress can help control or lessen your symptoms. Although I have not practiced many of the techniques faithfully, I must have gained something because I keep noticing things. This is but one example. I’ll have to write about more of them in my post tomorrow or later today if my current migraine (which is there but very much in the background now) goes away completely.


Leave a Reply

