Sometimes It’s Lemonade, Sometimes, the Juice Burns Your Eye

Guess what it has been for me recently?

I know I’ve been AWOL for over a week now and I have only myself and life’s little problems to blame. Doctor appointments for me, mom, dad, physical therapy for me, running errands for mom and dad, trying to get ready for Christmas, playing for Advent services, and dealing with a case of extremely dry skin on my hands. But what I had to deal with yesterday topped everything.

Yesterday was supposed to be the day I practiced for today and the upcoming Christmas Eve services and next Sunday. The day I was going to clean house and do some baking and some decorating and my laundry. Then, at 11 o’clock A.M. the phone rang. It was dad asking me to come over because he’d had an accident. So, I dropped everything, put on clothes I could wear in public, and drove over there.

The accident actually happened on Friday probably right around the time the sun was going down. Per dad, someone hit him on the left side of the car. Dad is OK. The car is not. He wanted to go see it and talk with the people at the garage where the cops had it towed. Of course, dad didn’t remember the name of the garage, just that it was in his hometown and “near where he used to live”. Very helpful if I had been there at the time, but I wasn’t around then.

We found the garage, it was open, and we got to take what few things dad had left in the car home. Then it was to the bank and the grocery store and pharmacy. Then I had the singular joy of talking to dad’s insurance company. Lots of time spent with automated menus while mom and dad were both asking me “Maybe no one is there?” or “Aren’t they answering?”. I finally got a person to take the info on the claim, but I didn’t have all the info. One thing I didn’t know for sure was the name of the police department that helped dad because he didn’t remember. I also didn’t have any information on the other driver or drivers because dad said the person who hit him drove away. I don’t know if there were any witnesses, either.

The insurance company wanted us to use one of their approved garages to get faster service, but dad wants to keep the car where it is. Actually, I didn’t ask him about this since I was afraid that the approved garages might not be as conveniently located and it would mean more driving for me. The company also asked if he wanted a rental car. I told them that we hadn’t talked about it. (The last time dad had a rental car, he wrecked it and his insurance had to pay.)

After all this, I had to make them lunch since they had not eaten. Never mind that I hadn’t eaten either. Neither had I made it to Weight Watchers last week. (The WW week begins on Sunday, so I missed a week.) I could not fit in a meeting. I had planned to run in to get weighed yesterday. So much for the best laid plans.

I mentioned extremely dry skin on my hands. That’s the topic for another day. I can report on my visit to the dermatologist and the the lifestyle changes I am making because of it.

Right now, I’m trying to figure out how to get everything done so that I can be provide people with a meaningful Christmas Eve worship experience when all I want to do is go hide in a heated, furnished cave with indoor plumbing, Internet access, and HBO, for about a month. And, please, Lord, no snow on Christmas Eve since I’ll be out there driving in it. Thank You.

Published in: on December 19, 2010 at 7:45 AM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zafodsgirl.wordpress.com/2010/12/19/sometimes-its-lemonade-sometimes-the-juice-burns-your-eye/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, what a day! How old is your father? I wonder if he should be driving. Have you discussed that with him?

    Anyway, its great that you have a sense of humor about all this—and infinite patience. I would be a wreck, just like your dad’s car.

    • I’m hiding the wreck that is me. I’ve learned many acting skills in the past 6 years of dealing with mom and dad. To answer your questions, dad is 88 and should not be driving. My sister and I as well as his doctor and others have talked to him about this, but he refuses to listen. I’ve asked the police in my home town to help, but they say it’s up to the doctor, who did nothing more than say, “Don’t you think it’s time to stop driving?” He did not submit any paperwork to the DMV, which is what has to happen. I am already doing as much of their driving as possible to avoid this situation, but my energy and time are limited. I am not Wonder Woman and even she slept and ate if I remember. She also didn’t have Facebook to waste time on and she probably didn’t have a blog that she didn’t update as often as she’d promised.

      On that note, I’m going to make some breakfast and then get ready to face today, which includes a doctor appointment (for me) with the Russian doctor. A chance to practice my rusty language skills. Ochen’ khorosho! (Very good!)


Leave a Reply

